What to knit with?

Every craftsman has an obsession with tools. Well, every craftsman/woman I know of.. Tools. Shiny, sharp, cool looking, colourfull, colourless, take a pick! We all have our preferences. And I’ve just done a bit of an inventory check and here are mine:

  • SHARP – ensuring that what you do with it can be done fast and accurate. Do not underestimate tools – good ones will get you there faster, less stressful and produce great looking results (disclaimer: some skill to use them should be a must. some can be acquired with time)
  • COOL LOOKING – let’s be completely honest, that is always a bonus 😉

So, lets get me focussed and back to knitting.. I’ve tried different ones. Some were good, some so-so, some I didn’t like so much. To make it completely clear: all were usable! If you want, you could knit with a pair of takeaway chopsticks. You might not like the result, but you can do it!

My  personal preference is metal. And carbon. I tried the wood and bamboo, but my heart isn’t there. The fact that I have broken my share of needles didn’t help. I still have them and use them occasionally (one day I will live in ideal world where I can hoard only the things I adore), when I don’t have more likeable alternative.

Oh, I forgot to mention – I prefer circulars. They are really suitable for my projects – mostly hats and toys. And less likely to loose tens of stitches if I am doing a scarf (been there unfortunately). They also fold really nicely in any project bag 🙂

Carbon is my latest craze. Since I started breaking wood – and by that I mean plain no-name bamboo and lovely knit pro symfonie – I figured either yoga or some sturdier tools are in order. I took up both.

So I got myself some of the karbonz tips, they have them separately or in a kit (e.g. KnitPro Karbonz Interchangeable Needle Deluxe Set Normal, Black and Silver) as I love the KnitPro circular cables, they have no memory and slide lovely. Downside, sometimes the connection will snag and it is really annoying. Although I wanted to go for nice and neat storage of tips with cables I can mix and match (as pictured), I will slowly move towards the fixed circulars… Karbonz feel really nice and the tips are shiny and sharp, with the whole needle feeling really strong. myknitprowrap

I mentioned symfonie – they are lovely, but I just can’t get used to the colour. If I need to do something white or yellow, it is a perfect pick – for all dark colours, I prefer something less distracting. I might try out trendz just to get some contrasting colours in.

Leave a Reply

